Fandomtopia
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Waiting for Superman~short story

5 posters

Go down

Waiting for Superman~short story Empty Waiting for Superman~short story

Post by ReadtheRavishing Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:36 pm

Heyyyy awesome people!
I bring you a short story for your review and critique. I posted it on Wattpad awhile ago but wanted to know what y'all's thoughts were. It's my first attempt at anything romance-y so it's a bit rough. Please tell me what you like or don't like!

(based on the song "Waiting for Superman" by Daughtry)

She’s talking to angels,
Counting the stars
Making a wish on a passing car
She’s dancing with strangers,
She’s falling apart
Waiting for Superman to pick her up
In his arms

She walks through the revolving doors of the office building into the bustling street, glad to be homebound after a long and trying week. First her presentation was deemed "Wrong, it's just all wrong!" by her manager, then the elevator in her apartment building broke down, and of course she lives on the fifth floor, and to top it all off, she bumped into a sidewalk salesman this morning and spilled her coffee on her jacket. Not to mention her boyfriend--or ex-boyfriend now. He dumped her on their two month anniversary three days ago. Considerate, wasn't he?

She crosses the street amongst a hoard of people. Rush hour was always the worst time of day, but it's not like it could be avoided. Normally she would be upset at the crowds, but today all she wants to do is go home and hide from the rest of the world for the next two days. Taking a shortcut through a small park, she sees several couples on park benches or walking along the pond and can't help the icy dagger that she feels piercing her heart. She's twenty-seven years old for heaven's sake; when is she going to find someone who will truly love her?